International News Sources

Important, ongoing, news stories provide a feeling of continuity. Far too often, the news consists of a series of disconnected bits of trivia. When the news is reduced in scope, it tends to increase in depth. This is especially true with respect to being able to tie disparate elements of the world together.
This page offers two things. First, it offers analyses of then-current events as written by two of Dr. Forsberg’s classes at Creighton University and one at Loyola College. The second offering is a list of news sources across the globe.

Event Analyses

The American Foreign Policy (PLS 341) class focused on analyzing events from the standpoint of how it affects the United States and its position in the world. The Introduction to World Politics (PLS 105) class focused on analyzing events from a more global standpoint. The Introduction to International Politics (PS 365) course focused on analyzing the world events from each of the three primary IR Perspectives.

Prominent News Sources

While hardly exhaustive, this is a listing of several news sources from across the world:

Sub-Saharan Africa:

News Source Locale
»   Kenya Times http://www.kenyatimes.com/ kn en
  The Analyst (Liberia) http://www.analystliberia.com/ lr en
  The Guardian http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/ ng en
  The Daily News (Dar es Salaam) http://www.dailynews.co.tz/ tz en
»   Mail and Guardian (South Africa) http://www.mg.co.za/ za en
  The (Zimbabwe) Herald http://www.herald.co.zw/ zw en
»   The Zimbabwe Independent http://www.thezimbabweindependent.com/ zw en

Asia:

News Source Locale
»   Chongqing Evening News http://www.cqwb.com.cn/ cn cn
»   Xinhua http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/ cn en
»   South China Morning Post http://www.scmp.com/ cn en
  The Hindu http://www.thehindu.com/ in en
»   The Indian Express http://www.indianexpress.com/ in en
»   Japan Times http://www.japantimes.co.jp/ jp en
  Korea Times http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/ kr en
»   The UB Post http://ubpost.mongolnews.mn/ mn en
  Montsame http://www.montsame.mn/ mn mn
»   Bangkok Post http://www.bangkokpost.com/ th en
»   The China Post http://www.chinapost.com.tw/ tw en
»   The Straits Times http://www.straitstimes.com/ sg en
»   The Borneo Bulletin http://www.borneobulletin.com.bn/ bn en

Europe:

News Source Locale
»   České Noviny http://www.ceskenoviny.cz/ cz cz
»   Prague Daily Monitor http://www.praguemonitor.com/ cz en
»   Die Zeit http://www.zeit.de/ de de
»   Deutche Welle http://www.dw-world.de/ de en
»   Die Spiegel http://www.spiegel.de/international/ de en
»   El Mundo http://elmundo.es/ es es
»   El Pais http://www.elpais.com/ es es
»   Le Monde http://www.lemonde.fr/ fr fr
»   La Repubblica http://www.repubblica.it/ it it
»   The Local http://www.thelocal.se/ se en
»   The Norway Post http://www.norwaypost.no/ no en
»   Interfax http://www.interfax.com/ ru en
»   Pravda http://english.pravda.ru/ ru en
»   Kyiv Post http://www.kyivpost.com/ ua en
»   Hürriyet http://www.hurriyet.com.tr/english/home/ tr en
»   Today’s Zaman http://www.todayszaman.com/tz-web/ tr en
»   BBC http://news.bbc.co.uk/ uk en
»   London Times http://www.timesonline.co.uk/ uk en
»   Reuters http://www.reuters.com/ uk en
»   The Independent http://www.independent.co.uk/ uk en

Latin America:

News Source Locale
»   The (Aruba) Amigoe http://www.amigoe.com/english/ aw en
»   Diario de Mexico http://www.diariodemexico.com.mx/ mx es
»   El Sol de Mexico http://www.oem.com.mx/elsoldemexico/ mx es
»   La Nacion http://www.lanacion.com.py/ py es
»   El Nacional http://www.el-nacional.com/ ve es

Greater Muslim World:

News Source Locale
»   Gulf News http://www.gulfnews.com/ ae en
»   Al Arabia http://www.alarabiya.net/english/ ae en
»   The Jerusalem Post http://www.jpost.com/ il en
»   Al Bawaba http://www.albawaba.com/en/countries/Iran/ ir en
»   Islamic Republic News Agency (IRNA) http://www.irna.ir/ ir ir
  Tehran Times http://www.tehrantimes.com/ ir en
»   Kazinform http://www.inform.kz/ kz en
»   Silk Road Intelligencer http://silkroadintelligencer.com/ kz en
  L'Opinion http://www.lopinion.ma/ ma fr
»   Dawn (Pakistan) http://www.dawn.com/ pk en
»   The (Pakistan) International News http://www.jang.com.pk/ pk en
»   Al Jazeera http://english.aljazeera.net/English/ qa en
  Le Quotidien http://www.lequotidien-tn.com/ tn fr

North America:

News Source Locale
  Amandala http://www.amandala.com.bz/ bz en
»   The Globe and Mail http://www.theglobeandmail.com/ ca en
»   The (Montréal) Gazette http://www.canada.com/montrealgazette/ ca-yul en
»   The International Herald Tribune http://global.nytimes.com/ us en
»   The Voice of America http://www.voanews.com/ us en
»   Bloomberg http://www.bloomberg.com/ us en
»   The Baltimore Sun http://www.baltimoresun.com/ us-bwi en
»   The Washington (DC) Post http://www.washingtonpost.com/ us-dca en
»   The Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/ us-lax en
»   The New York Times http://www.nytimes.com/ us-nyc en
»   Blue Mountian Eagle (John Day, OR) http://www.bluemountaineagle.com/ us-or en
»   The World (Coos Bay, OR) http://www.theworldlink.com/ us-or en
»   The Chicago Tribune http://www.chicagotribune.com/ us-ord en
»   Seattle (Washington) Post-Intelligencer http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/ us-sea en
»   Seattle (Washington) Times http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/ us-sea en